What does passion even mean…and how do I get some?

PROGRESS on #14

PASSION:  is an intense emotion compelling feeling, enthusiasm, or desire for something. (According to Wikipedia)

This October made me realize that I do have something I’m passionate about…beyond the “honeymoon stage” of new, fun, different.  Even beyond the fun research shopping for the right equipment and/or clothing.

For over a year, I’ve had a weekly goal of being active for a minimum of 30 minutes, five days during the week.  Five days!…Not five activities.  If I play two indoor soccer games on Sunday, that’s ONE day.  For a majority of the last 18 months, the five days haven’t been a problem.

Early in October, while feeling very crappy, I missed five days in a row.  No exercise at all.  I jumped back into it the following week and got in all my days.  On the beginning of the third week, I turned my ankle while playing soccer and ended up resting/healing for 4 days before my NextGen Twilight Run on October 21, 2011.

Yup~ankle was part of my excuse for not finishing under 32 minutes.  And yes~I’m FINALLY over making up excuses and the disappointment I felt.   I ran the race…even if I had a longer time…I was there and I ran.  Why?  Why did I run when I knew I wasn’t 100%?

It’s because I’m truly passionate about exercising.  Fitness, Exercise, Nutrition, Healthy Living…whatever you want to call it.  I began with the idea that I had to be passionate about a single “type” of fitness…like running, or yoga, or soccer.  I don’t have to pick just one!  Trying to figure out which single area I was going to be passionate about was proving to be stressful.  After giving it much thought I realized I didn’t have to LOVE just a single activity.  I run 5k’s…because I don’t love running enough to do a 1/2 marathon, let alone an entire 26.2 marathon.  I love playing indoor soccer but I won’t limit my running and bootcamp attendance.  I really enjoy going to bootcamp at 5:30am (regardless of the weather) to get the strength training, agility and cardio workouts, and having the wonderful camaraderie of the other “booters”.

While laid up last week I was realizing that I was the most anxious about getting back to being active.  The doctor must have thought I was nuts when she’d ask how I was feeling and I’d say “pretty good, so I can play soccer on Sunday?”…or…”I know I shouldn’t run but is it ok if I walk a 5k in 2 days?”.  Yeah…she didn’t sign off on either one but I know what passion is now.

Every day I look forward to something…and it’s about being active and exercising.  The variety of combining bootcamp, running, indoor soccer, and throwing in some yoga gives me something to look forward to every day!

BE PASSIONATE!  BE ACTIVE!  It’s fun!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: What is your passion? | Antony Last

Leave a Reply

