24-Hour Relay ~ It’s WAY better then you think…

official logo of the American Cancer Society R...

Image via Wikipedia

Where on the 40X40 list is this event?!…It’s not!

It’s part of my real life and it’s something I’ll do EVERY year…It’s not just something to check off for me.

Here we go~RELAY FOR LIFE 2011

According to my Google search a “Relay” is:

Noun:  A race between teams usually of sprinters or swimmers, each team member in turn covering part of the total distance!

There were many definitions but this one was exactly what I did for 24-hours.  There were teams of people with members taking turns…but the total distance of the race is different for each person…but we all took turns so that we could all make it through the 24-hours.  The race for my Dad had a distance of 54 years.  My Mom, luckily made it beyond the challenge of cancer 4 years ago and continues her race!  That’s why I  do this relay~ The Relay for Life!

This event is very emotional for everyone there and I’m not very good at openly showing my feelings.  Until this year, I hid behind a camera taking pictures, kept my sunglasses on, and successfully avoided the awkward cry face I get when I’m holding it all in.

With the great support of two of my friends, we did our Relay team (for the 3rd year in a row) in Honor of my Mom.

Now don’t get me wrong~there were far more supporters beyond my two friends…they just happened to be my Co-Captains and helped motivate our team and keep the magic going!  Thank you to EVERYONE who participated, donated, supported, encouraged, showed up, brought food/coffee…you are all appreciated beyond words!

We are SALLY’S SASSY SUPPORTERS!

Half of the Sassy Supporters

Leading the Opening Survivor Lap is the US Coast Guard

Doves in flight

Sassy Sally & her good friend Karen

Caretakers meeting up with Survivors

Me, My Mom, and my first babysitter (I wasn't even a year yet)

Fabulous Co-Captains selling raffle tickets

Thank you for all the generous contributions!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandy - The Complete Cook Book
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 07:47:29

    Kudos to you on doing this for your Mom and so many others! *applauds*
    Have a great day.
    🙂 Mandy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

