Baking Bread…It’s how I procrastinate!

Progress:  #4&#5 of 112 recipes

How to start my weekend?!?

I had so many things on my “To Do” list and needed to get busy.  There was laundry, errands; the car needs a bath…as does the dog…Phew!

I started the most sensible place on the list…the baking!  I needed to get 2 recipes done to stay on track to make Item #7 on my 40X40 list happen by the deadline.

Quick Breads!  I frowned at this…hoping they weren’t too quick!  I was trying to avoid all the mundane items by these breads taking their time.

I got started and realized I only had 2 glass loaf pans...I had to dig but found 2 more but they were metal.

I always preferred glass but was wondering if there was really a difference.  I did 2 loaves in the glass pans and 2 in the metal pans and figured I find out if there was a difference.

Pumpkin Bread

Baked in metal pans this bread was done a little quicker then the Cranberry Orange Pecan Bread.  It was still moist throughout and very tasty.   No nuts in the recipe so I made it strictly by the book.

Cranberry Orange Pecan Bread

Baked in the glass pans, I could tell from looking when this bread was done without having to poke it.  This recipe has toasted pecans and I included them in one loaf.  The other loaf remained untainted and was very enjoyable and yummy.

I would definitely include either of these breads as part of a brunch or light breakfast.  Once again, The Grand Central Baking Book did not fail to impress.

I was so excited when I completed the breads, I skipped the laundry and errands and delivered it promptly to my husband’s hunting club for everyone to enjoy.  Procrastination was achieved…at least for today!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 12:32:43

    Congrats! I’ve always heard that breads were difficult to make so I shied away. I may have to try to make at least one of these for my recipe challenge though.

    Reply

    • Bowl of Butter
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 13:16:30

      Thank you! These breads don’t require yeast so they are friendlier. I LOVE the cookbook these came out of…it’s definitely worth the $20 if you buy it on Amazon.com. I’ll be looking forward to reading about your recipe challenge!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

